Strikeforce: Shamrock vs. Diaz

Click the stars to rate how good you think this was.

Strikeforce: Shamrock vs. Diaz was held in San Jose, California on April 11, 2009, at the HP Pavilion. It was the first event promoted by Strikeforce after their acquisition of assets from the defunct EliteXC promotion through their parent company ProElite. The event will aired live at 10pm (EST) on the Showtime cable network and online through Strikeforce All Access. Commentating during the broadcast was Gus Johnson, Mauro Ranallo and Pat Miletich.

Gilbert Melendez was orginally scheduled to fight Josh Thompson for the Strikeforce lightweight title before Thompson broke his leg while sparring. Rodrigo Damm was then brought in as a replacement in an interim lightweight championship bout.

Post Strikeforce Notes: The Wolf’s Wound
Strikeforce: Shamrock vs. Diaz –Dysfunctional Cyborg
Sherdog pre-fight analysis Strikeforce “Shamrock vs. Diaz” Preview

Match Winner Loser Method Round Time
1 Shingo Kohara Jeremy Tavares KO (Knee) 2 0:04
2 James Terry Zak Bucia Decision (Unanimous) 3 5:00
3 Raul Castillo Brandon Michaels Submission (Rear-Naked Choke) 1 1:45
4 Eric Lawson Waylon Kennell TKO (Punches) 1 4:54
5 Luke Rockhold Buck Meredith Submission (Rear-Naked Choke) 1 4:07
6 Brett Rogers Ron Humphrey TKO (Knees) 2 1:38
7 Cristiane Santos Hitomi Akano TKO (Punches) 3 0:35
8 Scott Smith Benji Radach KO (Punch) 3 3:24
9 Gilbert Melendez Rodrigo Damm KO (Punches) 2 2:02
10 Nick Diaz Frank Shamrock TKO (Punches) 2 3:57
What Do You Think of This Fight/Event?